Faculty

Malcolm Baker Malcolm Baker, Chair
Distinguished Professor

History of sculpture, especially in 18th century Britain, France and Germany; portraiture, especially of authors; 18th century British art, history of collecting and display.

(951) 827-4634
Email: mcbaker@ucr.edu

Jonathan Green Jonathan W. Green
Professor and Executive Director of the UCR/ARTSblock

History and criticism of photography and the practice of photography, video and MIDI composition.

(951) 827-4787
jonathan.green@ucr.edu

Jeanette Kohl Jeanette Kohl
Associate Professor

Renaissance art with a focus on Italy and the Mediterranean; portraiture, sculpture and materiality; methodology and intellectual history; additional research interests in contemporary art and art criticism.

(951) 827-5919
jkohl@ucr.edu


LizKotz Liz Kotz
Associate Professor

Modern and contemporary art history; experimental film, video and performance; psychoanalysis and critical theory, media theories and media technologies.

(951) 827-5921
ewkotz@ucr.edu

Susan Laxton Susan Laxton
Assistant Professor, Undergraduate Advisor

History and theory of photography; European avant-garde art of the 20th century, particularly its engagements with chance and psychoanalysis; critical theory.

(951) 827-4626
slaxton@ucr.edu

Aleca Le Blanc
Assistant Professor

Modern Latin American art and architecture with a focus on Brazil; global modernisms, architecture and urbanism, visual culture, abstraction, institutional histories, and collecting and display.

(951) 827-4601
aleca.leblanc@ucr.edu

Patricia Morton Patricia Morton
Associate Professor

History of modern and contemporary European and American architecture and cities; French colonial architecture.

(951) 827-2698
patricia.morton@ucr.edu

Kristoffer Neville Kristoffer Neville, Graduate Advisor
Associate Professor

Early modern painting, sculpture, and (especially) architecture. Cultural contacts and cultural transfer. Northern Europe, ca 1500-1800.

(951) 827-5057
kneville@ucr.edu

park J.P.Park
Assistant Professor

East Asian art history, Chinese print culture, Early Modern Korean art, contemporary East Asian art, Globalism and Multiculturalism in contemporary art.

(951) 827-7736
E-mail: jp.park@ucr.edu

Conrad Conrad Rudolph
Professor

Medieval Art History with special interests in such topics as the social theory of medieval art, the ideological use of art, monasticism and art, the origin of Gothic art, and the art and social change.

(951) 827-4240
conrad.rudolph@ucr.edu

Jason Weems Jason Weems
Assistant Professor

American art and visual/material culture from the colonial era to the present, with research emphasis on the later nineteenth to mid-twentieth centuries; history of photography; art and social movements; modern design; vision and technology; critical and interdisciplinary theory.

(951) 827-5922
jweems@ucr.edu

Cooperating Faculty

Catherine Gudis, Associate Professor, Department of History
Twentieth-century U.S. cultural history; consumer culture, the history of the built environment; public history
(951) 827-5823
catherine.gudis@ucr.edu

Karl Taube, Professor of Anthropology
Cooperating faculty with Art History, specialist in Mesoamerican art and archaeology.(951) 827-3917
karl.taube@ucr.edu


Emeritus Faculty

Fran├žoise Forster-Hahn, Distinguished Professor Emeritus
francoise.forster@ucr.edu

Ginger Cheng-Chi Hsu, Associate Professor Emeritus
ginger.hsu@ucr.edu

Dericksen M Brinkerhoff, Professor Emeritus
dericksen.brinkerhoff@ucr.edu

Thomas Pelzel, Associate Professor Emeritus

UCR Homepage